Hello Everyone:
I love it when actors can transform themselves into very different characters and do it well.  Chadwick Boseman stars as the “Godfather of Soul” James Brown.  Chadwick starred last year in “42” as baseball great Jackie Robinson.
“Get On Up” will open on Friday, August 1, 2014 nation-wide.  See NCM Blog below for more details.

 –
 –
 –
 –
​Chadwick Boseman stars as James Brown 
in “Get On Up”_movie open Aug. 1st
 –
 –
 –
​Michael Jackson presents James Brown with a BET Lifetime 
Achievement award in 2003
 –
 –

Michael Jackson’s biggest influence and his favourite performer was the Godfather of Soul, James Brown. Michael was blown away by James’ energy and charisma on stage. He loved the way James danced, the way he so effortlessly moved his feet when he would perform. As a child, Michael would watch James on television, eagerly trying to learn his dance steps. He would get very angry when the camera man wouldn’t show James’ feet.

“When I saw him move I was mesmerized. I’ve never seen a performer perform like James Brown and right then and there I knew that that was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.”

Michael spoke at his funeral in 2006 saying “James Brown was my greatest inspiration. Ever since I was a small child, no more than like six years old, my mother would wake me no matter what time it was, if I was sleeping, no matter what I was doing, to watch the television to see the master at work.”
 –
​Bruno Mars’s hair is styled like a young James Brown
 –
 –
 –
​Bruno Mars performs splits like James Brown at his Super Bowl half-time
performance_February 2014
 –
 –
Bruno Mars also impersonated Michael Jackson who played a lead role as his influences
– 
Mars is also known for his “fancy, slick and fantastic” footwork that is inspired by James Brown, all-band choreography and splits.
– 
Rolling Stone magazine wrote: “Anyone from the age of 5 to 95 can walk out of aBruno Mars concert feeling like the show was designed just for them. Mars walks the old-school walk (occasionally in James Brown’s funky shoes) and talks the sexy talk, but he also nails the hits, leads a super-energetic nine-piece soul band, and rips a mean drum solo”.
 –
NCM Blog
 –
July 21, 2014
– 
“Get On Up!”
 –
Camille
