George & Mellody Lucas:  A Powerful Philanthropic Force  

 –
 –
 –
A determined Creative Force meets an effervescent Financial Force and become a Powerful Philanthropic Force

George Lucas, 69 made headlines October 2012 by donating his $4.05 billion sale of his company Lucasfilm – to an education foundation.

“As I start a new chapter in my life, it is gratifying that I have the opportunity to devote more time and resources to philanthropy,” Lucas said.

George’s insightful perspective revealed interviews with Oprah 

Oprah Winfrey interviews George on how a near death experience decades ago was a life changing event for George and what he is doing with his educational fund and why he thinks everyone can be a force for good.

Filmmaker George Lucas Near Death Experience – 1 min. Video

– 
Mellody on the irreplaceable value of her mentor
– 
Mellody Hobson, 44 said at the age of 22, my “shiny new penny” perspective was dramatically impacted by lunch with my firm’s founder and then-president, John W. Rogers, Jr. On Day One, at the local TGI Friday’s, John informed me that I would frequently find myself in the company of rich and successful people with big titles, lots of degrees and lots of experience—and yet, my ideas could still be as good or even better.

This early advice bucked up a shaky voice and became the guiding force that has underscored my entire career. When I was starting out, I thought my inexperience was a liability, but John contended my greenness was an asset because it offered a fresh point of view. As my mentor, John encouraged me to be bold. As my boss, he took some giant leaps of faith to support me.

Because of our first lunch and the years of support that followed, I never questioned speaking up, raising my hand or taking a seat at the table. Leaning back was never an option. But John’s advice came with a one important caveat—I needed to keep my ego in check. It’s one thing to be assertive but quite another to be abrasive. Similarly, there is a fine line between confidence and overconfidence. With that in mind, I have had to learn to balance leaning in with humility. 

Mellody on financial literacy & how to determine a reputable organization for donations

Mike Gousha with Upfront interviews Mellody Hobson on the importance of teaching financial literacy in grade and high schools.

This segment of Money Mondays was on recorded after Mellody and George celebrated a second wedding reception party in Chicago July 2013; a week after their marriage in California at Skywalker Ranch.  In the audio and/or article below Mellody talks about how to spot a good charitable organization vs.a phony one.

– 
– 
– 
– 
– 
 –
The Force of Philanthropy 
– 
December 1, 2013
George Lucas and Mellody Lucas Give $25 million to Chicago’s After School Matters Program 
“These funds provide the opportunity for underserved teens to participate in productive and creative after-school programs, while learning critical career and life skills within a safe environment. Our goal is to support and invest in Chicago’s youth, creating opportunities for them to achieve their full potential and become the strong and innovative leaders of tomorrow.”   ~George Lucas
 –
View image on Twitter
Mrs. Mellody Hobson Lucas & Mayor Rahm Emanuel
announce the gift from George Lucas Educational Foundation 
 –
February 25, 2014
George Lucas and Mellody Hobson Lucas donate large again   To read the article
– 
– 
Gordon Parks
Gordon Parks was an American photographer, musician, writer and film director. He is best remembered for his photographic essays for Life magazine
The%20Gordon%20Parks%20Arts%20Hall%2C%20seen%20in%20this%20rendering%20provided%20by%20Visualized%20Concepts%2C%20is%20believed%20to%20be%20the%20first%20building%20on%20the%20University%20of%20Chicago%20campus%20that%20will%20be%20named%20after%20an%20African-American%2C%20according%20to%20John%20Rogers%20Jr.%2C%20chairman%20of%20U.%20of%20C.%u2019s%20Laboratory%20Schools.%20%28Handout%29
The Gordon Parks Arts Hall
– 
– 
Mellody & George attend the Golden Globe Awards_January 2010
George & Mellody Lucas:  “Let your light & actions shine”
“May the Force be with You!”
– 
– 
– 
March 11, 2014
– 
 
Bonjour!
– 
Camille

