Hello Everyone:

2014 is right around the corner and there is no better way to prepare for a Festive New Year than watching the 36th annual Kennedy Center Honors.  The gala event occurred several weeks ago; however, the CBS broadcast will be televised on Sunday, December 29, 2013 starting at 9:00pm till 11:00 p.m., ET/PT

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts will honor five individuals who will receive the 2013 Kennedy Center Honors.  You can read their biographies by clicking on the link below their photo.

President & First Lady Michelle Obama arrive for the Kennedy Center
Honorees’ White House Gala Reception

“The Kennedy Center celebrates five extraordinary individuals who have spent their lives elevating the cultural vibrancy of our nation and the world,” said Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein. “Martina Arroyo has dazzled the world with her glorious soprano voice and continues to share her artistry with a new generation of opera singers;Herbie Hancock has established himself as one of the most innovative musicians in the world, constantly breaking musical barriers and redefining the art of jazz”.

“Billy Joel’s melodies have provided the soundtrack of our lives for over four decades making him one pop music’s most prolific and memorable singers and songwriters; the remarkable breadth and range of Shirley MacLaine’s acting has left an indelible impression over a nearly 60-year career on stage and screen; from his legendary performance at Woodstock to his sweep at the 2000 Grammys and beyond, Carlos Santana’s artistry transcends genres while entertaining millions.”

The annual Honors Gala has become the highlight of the Washington cultural year, and its broadcast on CBS is a high point of the television season.

in a star-studded celebration on the Kennedy Center Opera House stage, produced by George Stevens, Jr. and Michael Stevens, the 2013 Honorees will be saluted by great performers from New York, Hollywood, and the arts capitals of the world. Seated with the President of the United States and Mrs. Obama, the Honorees will accept the thanks of their peers through performances and tributes.

Honorees’ Biographies; click on name below each photo..
Martina Arroyo (uncredited)
     Martina Arroyo 
Herbie Hancock (Douglas Kirkland)
Billy Joel (Kevin Mazur)
             Billy Joel
Shirley MacLaine (Greg Gorman)
Carlos Santana (Maryanne Bilham)
Camille Mitchell

NCM Logo_Small